Skip to main content
HomeAbout Us

We are the League

Abridge video on the left below, and full video on the right


The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.
The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

Voters Service/Citizen Education:

We present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.


We are also nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the League of Women Voters Education Fund, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.
Our Vision, Beliefs, and Intentions guide our activities.


Our members are also members of:
League of Women Voters of Colorado. Visit their website at
League of Women Voters of the United States. Visit their website at


Assist with online voter registration
Host local candidate and ballot issue forums
Participate in statewide Voter Service and
Implement LWVCO EZ Grant for outreach to youth and diverse groups
Participate and plan vote registration drives for National Voter Registration Day, September 25

Host monthly presentations via Zoom or in-person for the winter/spring months
Celebrate the passage of the 19th Amendment

Instruct various student and community groups about voter registration and election information

Share information locally from the LWVCO Strategic Task Force Local League Support Committee

Recipient of LWVCO EZ Grant
Recipient of Horsefly Brewery's Community Tap Night

2023-2024 BOARD
Co-Chairs: Janine Reid (Delta County)
vacant (Montrose County)
State Liaison: Gretchen Nicholoff
Voter Service: Jan Edwards
Membership: Annette Choszczcyk
Secretary: Kathie Lower
Communications: Patrice Schell
Treasurer: Nancy Ball
Past President, Carol Howe

To reach our leadership team send an email to

For information about the state league and resources available from the state office, go to